Blackburn’s champion crown, Alonso Spanish GP has made history


Retrieved 14 May 2020, 11:32 IST

Shearer - Cropped“/>
Alan Shearer celebrates Blackburn’s 1995 title

In the history of Blackburn Rovers, May 14th is a great sporting date.

Twenty-five years ago today, Blackburn sealed the Premier League title at Anfield in a dramatic afternoon.

This date represents the 14th anniversary of a famous day in the history of Spanish motorsport, achieved by Formula One great Fernando Alonso.

Here we look back at some of the top moments that happened in the world of sports on May 14th.

1995 – Blackburn secured dramatic Premier League title

The most dramatic of the 1999 situation was Blackburn’s debut as Premier League champions at Anfield.

The Rovers came on the final day of the season’s top title rivals Manchester United, who were playing in West Ham, with two points.

When Alan Shearer scored his 34th league goal in a notable season, everything seemed to be going to be planned.

However, John Burns’ goal for Liverpool and Jamie Redknapp’s latest breathless winner defeated the Rovers in fear of the possibility of becoming the first English top-flight championship since 1914.

United were putting pressure on their match but could not snatch the late win against West Ham that they could have won the title, as they drew 1-1.

After the fulltime whistle, Blackburn boss Kenny Dalglish and his players were convinced that the title was theirs, evoking the absolute scene.

Given the history of Dalglish with Liverpool and the fact that their rivals United have been denied, the fans at home are also quite happy with the result.

The Rovers finished a disappointing seventh while defending their title, after which their hopes of competing were dashed again after the departure of the great Shear at Newcastle United.

Shearer has been the Premier League’s all-time leading goalscorer but the only one to win the league title in his career.

2006 – Alonso makes history at the Spanish Grand Prix

Overwhelmed by King Juan Carlos and a million strong crowds in the Circuit de Catalunya, Alonso became the first home driver to win the Spanish Grand Prix in the 200 home.

The Renault star, who went on to win his second Formula One world title that year, qualified for the polar position, with teammate Giancarlo Fisichella joining him in the front row.

Alonso was forced to settle for second place in the previous year’s race, but this time he was not denied, building a strong lead and finally returning home before title rival Michael Schumacher.

The championship was the final moment of the battle, with Schumacher winning the previous two Grand Prix.

“My people, in front of my supporters at first, I think it’s the best feeling I’ve ever had in a Formula One car,” said Alonso, 24.

“The Brazilian Grand Prix where I won the championship [in 2005] – I didn’t enjoy it as much as I enjoyed it here. “

Alonso went on to claim another victory in his home race, winning with Ferrari in 2013 as well as winning the 2012 European Grand Prix at home in Valencia.

2011 – Man City claim the glory of the FA Cup

Manchester City have won 11 major trophies since the Abu Dhabi owners took over in 2006.

Their four Premier League crowns are the biggest of their time, but City fans will be the first to remember their first FA Cup crown.

Maria Balotelli was named Man of the Match, with Yahoo Tour scoring the winner with a powerful 16-minute strike to give City a 1-0 win over Stoke City in Weybali.

This is the team’s first trophy in 35 years, their last being back in the 1976 EFL Cup.

This success under Roberto Mancini has paved the way for them to win their first Premier League title next season.