Ferguson’s final game, Deportivo drama and Monaco’s insanity


Changed 19 May 2020, 11:30 IST

Ferguson - Cropped“/>
Sir Alex Ferguson after his last match in 2013

May 19th is a great sporting date that Manchester United fans will not forget in a hurry.

On this day seven years ago, Alex Ferguson conducted his final match in charge of the club, one that exceeded expectations.

The date also represents the 20th anniversary in the history of Deportivo La Coruna, which won La Liga despite the domestic dominance of Real Madrid and Barcelona.

Here we look back at some of the top moments that happened in the world of sports on May 19th.

2013 – Ferguson enjoyed a dramatic final match

In a great era of success, Ferguson has led Manchester United to 28 major trophies, including 13 Premier League titles.

The glory of the English top flight was already secured before his last match before retiring on May 19, 2013, but there was still a lot of excitement as he went out with the Classic in his 1,500th game led by the Red Devils.

The champions drew an incredible 5-5 with West Brom at Hawthorns.

Dramatically, United took a 3-0 and 5-2 lead, but their future striker Romelu Lukaku failed to score a hat-trick as West Brom scored three goals in five minutes.

After the final whistle, Ferguson was not too disappointed, as all the fans who gave him a respectful reception praised his players as they watched.

United won the league with 11 points that year but have not won a title since that campaign, their best finish being second in 2017-18 under Jose Mourinho.

2000 – LaLiga glory for Deportivo

On this day in 2000, Deportivo won their first and only La Liga title.

Heavyweights Sevilla, Atletico Madrid and Real Betis were all rejected in one incredible season of Spain’s top flight, with the big two fighting Barcelona and Real Madrid sacking Luis van Gaal and John Toshak, respectively.

Madrid won the Champions League under Vicente del Bosque, but there is no need to stop in the league, with Roy McKay’s 22 goals helping Bar পরিষ্কারa and Valencia clear five points.

Scenes from Jubilant won 2-0 against Espanyol and won the title on the final day of the season, with goals from Donato and Macau.

Defending champions Barাa advanced to the final, but drew with Celta Vigo and somehow won with Delper to avoid a repeat of the 1994 title collapse.

Two Valencia titles will follow in four years, but normalcy has returned since 2004, with La Liga claimed by Barাa or Madrid in 14 of the next 15 promotions.

The exception was the dramatic success of Atletico Madrid in 2014 under Diego Simeone.

1996 – Monaco insanity as three drivers

A wild Monaco Grand Prix in 1999 set a Formula One record because only three drivers took place on the checked flag.

Wet weather, mixed with the tight Monte Carlo circuit and multiple mechanical problems, makes drivers proud to retire as a result of the fight.

Michael Schumacher and Damon Hill started in the front row but the Germans landed in the opening lap after the crash, when their rival engine failed to give him a 40-ball lead.

The rest of the field didn’t save much better and a timely pitcher from the right-hander Olivia Panis, who kept his head in the chaos around him, became the Ligar-Mugen-Honda to win a memorable 14 from the grid.

It proved to be Panis ’only career F1 win, with David Colthard’s schedule ending with 75 of 786 laps as well as a two-hour run.

The only other finisher – Johnny Herbert – claimed a stage for Saber who proved his only point this season.

Heinz-Harold Frantzen pulled everyone into the holes as he retired, which meant he finished fourth despite not finishing in the end.

Finns Mika Salo and Mika Hakinen both finished with points, although five laps still remained as they crashed as part of a clash with Eddie Irwin.