Man Utd Europe and Mumbai Indians have won an IPL thriller


Changed 21 May 2020, 11:30 IST

van der Sir_Chelcia_crypt“/>
John Terry reacted after missing from the spot against Manchester United.

A strong cricket theme runs through the history of sports on 21 May – as well as an unforgettable outing for Manchester United.

During a great innings for Pakistan, Saeed Saeed Anwar was dazzling to set an ODI record, a milestone in the history of the Mumbai Indians, the franchise of the Indian Premier League.

As United, they became European champions for the third time in their history, but after fighting from the edge to defeat known enemies in dramatic finals.

1997 – Anwar wins a record-breaking victory over Pakistan

Anwar set an ODI record when he made an attacking attack around Chennai, with the opener scoring 194 runs from just 14 deliveries.

The left-arm batsman hit 22 fours and five sixes – including three in a row by leg-spinner Anil Kumble – to help Pakistan reach the final of the Independence Cup final with a total of 32-5-5. The highest score after the innings? 39.

Sachin Tendulkar dismissed Centurion for 297 despite making just four runs with the bat in India’s failed reply. Although Rahul was the 100th batsman for Dravid, they were bowled out for 292 and lost by 35 runs.

Anwar was at the top of the list for 12 years alone until Zimbabwe’s Charles Coventry matched his efforts. However, in February 2010, Tendulkar set a new benchmark against South Africa, becoming the first batsman to score a double century in an ODI.

2006 – The Red Devils hit the spot to become European champions

Moscow have started the All-Premier League final with a dramatic turn, with Chelsea losing their chance before United seal glory.

Cristiano Ronaldo scored the opening goal for the Red Devils when he bypassed Patron Ketch, but Frank Lampard returned to parity before the Czech break when the scorer reacted quickly.

There were no more goals in the remaining 90 minutes or so, meaning spot-kicks were needed. Ronaldo surprisingly missed the first, John Terry got the chance to seal the victory with the Blues ’fifth attempt.

Yet the Chelsea captain slipped seriously and lost his leg at the point of contact, sending his strike against a post. Edwin van der Sir Nicholas Anelkar made the right guess to deny and secure the trophy in the Russian capital, scoring at-3 by jumping on the sudden-death.

2017 – Johnson has done enough to win Mumbai again

Mumbai Indians have clinched their third IPL title in a thrilling one-run win over now-retired Rising Pune Supergiant in Hyderabad.

The champions slipped to 655-5 in their innings but Krunal Pandya regained a lower order to lead the 479-run innings to 129-8. In reply, Pune reached 98-2, but despite Steve Smith’s half-century, came up short.

They needed 11 men in their last over after a late collapse, Mitchell Johnson played his nerves – and lost a lot of wickets early on, leaving the trophy in line.

Dan Christian was able to pick up just two because the final ball needed four to win (and three to push in three super overs), with Washington running beautifully out.